Register

Help with failed OTA update

This is a discussion on Help with failed OTA update within the Droid RAZR Maxx forums, part of the Droid RAZR Forum category; Noticed I had an OTA update last night 03/16/13 downloaded and tried to install but it keeps failing. I'm on rooted Razr and I selected ...

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By HarleyDude

Thread: Help with failed OTA update

Member #

Help with failed OTA update

Noticed I had an OTA update last night 03/16/13 downloaded and tried to install but it keeps failing. I'm on rooted Razr and I selected survive OTA in superuser as well as I tried the voodoo OTA root keeper. Not sure what is wrong with the install but curious if anyone knows where I can find the downloaded update on my phone so I can try to install manually. I know its probably in cache somewhere but please tell me how to find it specifically. I'm not an expert so please be descriptive with explanation.

Thanks,
    OnTheLevel

Administrator
    Member #
    Liked
    422 times
    It's in the /cache directory, you'll need a root enabled file explorer to get it, like es file explorer. Unfortunately, if it's failing OTA, it will fail on a sideload. It is failing because you made some change to the system folder, i.e. deleted some bloat.
    I can help you get updated, you'll need to install safestrap 3.11, and make a backup of your stock side install. Then you can replace the system image in the backup wit a clean one, I'll get you the link

Administrator
    Member #
    Liked
    422 times
    Here's the link
    http://db.tt/c3ZpeCKJ

NOTE: Before you make a backup, go into your rootkeeper and delete the su backup
    Another NOTE: copy the folder with the original backup before replacing the system files, just in case...

Make a Safestrap backup of your stock side, then replace the system files in the backup with these and then restore it to your stock side.