Register

Disable Apps

This is a discussion on Disable Apps within the Droid Razr ICS General Discussion forums, part of the Droid Razr Ice Cream Sandwich Forum category; I found this as a result of trying to fix a minor annoyance in ICS. I noticed that anytime I started typing, there was a ...

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Disable Apps

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    MN > USA
    Posts
    681
    Member #
    5928
    Liked
    97 times

    Disable Apps

    I found this as a result of trying to fix a minor annoyance in ICS.

    I noticed that anytime I started typing, there was a "select input method" icon in the notification area. A few Google searches suggested that this is a "feature" of ICS, and appears anytime you're not using stock Android keyboard. Suggestions said to uncheck all other input methods except what you're using (I use Swiftkey 3). I was not able to uncheck the other methods, but I did go the next step, which was to Disable the apps altogether.

    If you go to App Management, and then the All tab (far right), and find the app in question, you can disable it by pressing the button on the right (next to Force Stop). I disabled Motorola input, as well as Swype, and rebooted. Now the notification doesn't pop up.

    I also Disabled several other apps such as Kindle, VZ Navigator, Slingbox, MOG Music, NFL Mobile, among others. It appears that they were all removed from my app tray, with the exception of Kindle.

    Just thought I'd share



    fury™ - not helping the situation since 1987
    Twitter

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    MN > USA
    Posts
    681
    Member #
    5928
    Liked
    97 times
    Also, the Disabled apps move to the very bottom of the list in the "All" tab.
    fury™ - not helping the situation since 1987
    Twitter

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    MN > USA
    Posts
    681
    Member #
    5928
    Liked
    97 times
    Ok. So not sure what happened, but the input selection notification came back now. But, the disabled apps are still gone from my menu.
    fury™ - not helping the situation since 1987
    Twitter

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sanger, TX
    Posts
    3,263
    Member #
    444
    Liked
    278 times
    Yup. First thing I did was start disabling every useless thing.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    MN > USA
    Posts
    681
    Member #
    5928
    Liked
    97 times
    I assume using the built in Disable function is safer than using TiBu to remove stuff? I'd like to remove all the stuff I never plan to use like Play Movies and Play Music, as well.
    fury™ - not helping the situation since 1987
    Twitter

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Philly area
    Posts
    1,825
    Member #
    42
    Liked
    406 times
    Quote Originally Posted by fury View Post
    I assume using the built in Disable function is safer than using TiBu to remove stuff? I'd like to remove all the stuff I never plan to use like Play Movies and Play Music, as well.
    Disable what you don't use for a week or so. If you have no issues after that, use anttek app manager (free) or TiBu Pro to freeze the apps. Wait a few weeks, then delete them if you wish (deleting is not advisable).

    You should probably make a nandroid of full stock first, as we don't have an ICS 211 fastboot (yet)

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    MN > USA
    Posts
    681
    Member #
    5928
    Liked
    97 times
    How do I nandroid on the Razr? I was under the impression that CWM was not available for it, and never investigated options such as fastboot or safeboot, as my experience revolves solely around CWM for backups and flashing.
    fury™ - not helping the situation since 1987
    Twitter

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Philly area
    Posts
    1,825
    Member #
    42
    Liked
    406 times
    There s a bootstrapper for razr ICS, also a second type of bootstrapper called safestrap for enabling CWM,
    Bootstrapper for ICS

    Also Matt's utility 1.7, and I believe 1.6, will install either for you, just pick one or the other, don't install both, they don't play nice together

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    MN > USA
    Posts
    681
    Member #
    5928
    Liked
    97 times
    Thanks Harley. I guess I hadn't heard anyone refer to it as Boostrap before, which i am familiar with. I used the Droid 2 Bootstrap on my DX, to boot into CWM. I do have Matt's utility on my PC, so I will add that in and make a backup.

    That just flashes on to the phone in it's current state, right?

    Thanks!
    fury™ - not helping the situation since 1987
    Twitter

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Philly area
    Posts
    1,825
    Member #
    42
    Liked
    406 times
    Yup. If you go into the files folder of Matt's utility, you'll see the apk's for safestrap and bootstrap. You can install via Matt's utility, which just does an adb push, or you can drop one of the apks on your sd card and install like any other apk, just like you installed DX bootstrapper.

    NOTE Only install one, they don't play well together.

    Bootstrapper is the same CWM you remember from the X, works exactly the same.
    ASafestrap is a somewhat different (and some think) improved version. First safety measure, every reboot of the phone will give you the option of booting to CWM recovery. In addition, if you flash a ROM, it gets flashed to the pre-install partition, and does not replace your stock OS, so you always have the original OS to boot to if you have a problem with the ROM you install.
    I use safestrap myself, but I'm only using it for nandroids, I like the stock rooted ICS enough that I don't "need" to find a better ROM

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. [How To] Disable mobile sites in stock browser
    By Garemlin in forum Droid RAZR FAQ & Guides
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-24-2014, 01:40 PM
  2. Disable Audio text notifications?
    By MacGyverWS6 in forum Droid RAZR Maxx
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-19-2013, 10:54 AM
  3. moving apps
    By grammie25 in forum Droid RAZR Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2012, 01:48 PM
  4. Any way to disable Mass Storage?
    By calllka in forum Droid Razr ICS General Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-03-2012, 12:50 PM
  5. Keeping Apps
    By RudyN in forum Droid RAZR Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-2012, 04:52 AM

Search tags for this page

how do i turn off swype on my droid razr
,
how do you turn off swype on droid razr
,

how to disable swype on droid razr

,
how to take swype off droid razr
,
how to turn off swype droid razr
,

how to turn off swype on droid razr

,
how to turn off swype on razr
,
how to turn swype off on droid razr
,

turn off swype on droid razr

,
turn off swype on razr
Click on a term to search for related topics.